New painting: “Hills”

June 26, 2012 at 2:39 pm 4 comments

Between Los Angeles and San Francisco lie hundreds of miles of California landscape. Somewhere out there I snapped a photo out the car window. A few years later a painting emerged.

This one’s a bit different from the rest. No trees. No water. No buildings. Just the dry grass-covered hills of California glowing in the sun. The absence of features like trees leaves the painting with a spare, abstract composition. Land and sky, that’s it.

"Hills" painting by Barbara J Carter “Hills” painting by Barbara J Carter, 2012, acrylic on canvas, 18×24 inches.

Purchase information here.

Entry filed under: Landscape, Painting.

Art Show in Thousand Oaks, California June 2-3, 2012 Kings Mountain Art Fair

4 Comments

  • 1. crazybasenji  |  June 26, 2012 at 3:44 pm

    I liked driving across that part of California (it was a long, long time ago), even though the landscape was kind of basic. The painting really captures it.

  • 2. barbarajcarter  |  June 27, 2012 at 10:50 am

    Thank you! Driving the long way through the state can seem a bit monotonous, but then you start to notice all the subtle differences and slight variations in the landscape. I find it quite meditative.

  • 3. Vanessa Turner  |  August 2, 2012 at 7:27 am

    Beautiful colour combinations!

    • 4. barbarajcarter  |  August 9, 2012 at 10:05 am

      Thanks Vanessa! And thank you for stopping by.


Barbara J Carter

I'm an artist. I make paintings with dots.

I work in acrylic paint, in a couple of distinct styles: landscapes and abstracts.

Native to California, I've lived elsewhere and only recently returned to my home state. I now live in Los Angeles.

I mostly show my art in outdoor festivals in California. I also occasionally show my work in art galleries or open studio events. You can see an up-to-date list of upcoming shows on my website (click here).

I invite you to sign up to receive my free email newsletter, in which I list my upcoming shows and talk about my latest work. I send it irregularly, a few times a year.

My links

My paintings

Follow me on Twitter: @barbarajcarter

Why I call my landscapes neo-Pointillist landscape paintings

A bunch of my abstract dot paintings

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 131 other followers

Feeds

Newsletter Signup

Click here to receive my free email newsletter for up-to-date info on my shows, my art, and anything else that I'm up to. I send it out irregularly, a few times a year.

My latest Twitter tweets

Find Articles by Date


