Happy Old Year!

January 2, 2011 at 11:02 am 1 comment

I don’t know about you, but I’m pretty glad 2010 is over. It had some brilliant moments but there were also some very low points.

The worst were the illness and death of my beloved dog (I still miss the little guy), househunting (a seemingly endless quest), moving, stress and insomnia, moving, and, oh, did I mention moving? I hate moving. (I’m still not done. Ick.) Also there was a fairly disastrous (or at least highly unpleasant) rained-out art show in Beverly Hills. Oh, the vicissitudes of life on the outdoor art show circuit! But that leads me to…

The best parts of 2010! There were some real high points, including my best art show ever (Kings Mountain), our lovely new house, my fabulous (and big!) new studio, and our fantastic new dog. The love and support of my beloved sweetie, particularly during Kings Mountain when he fed and chauffered me, took care of my dog, and even helped with the setup and teardown at the show. (Yeah, he’s a keeper.) We spent some wonderful and meaningful time with family and friends. Very good things indeed, and I am grateful for them all.

I hope to build on the successes of 2010, move past the failures, and enjoy the gifts of life with joy and gratitude.

Painting "Backlit Hills (Joshua Tree)" by Barbara J Carter

"Backlit Hills" by Barbara J Carter, 11x14 inches, acrylic on canvas, 2010.

Happy Old Year! Farewell 2010. Onwards and upwards!

Entry filed under: New Year.

Silver Lake Open Studio Tour New year, new plans, new art

1 Comment


Barbara J Carter

I'm an artist. I make paintings with dots.

I work in acrylic paint, in a couple of distinct styles: landscapes and abstracts.

Native to California, I've lived elsewhere and only recently returned to my home state. I now live in Los Angeles.

I mostly show my art in outdoor festivals in California. I also occasionally show my work in art galleries or open studio events. You can see an up-to-date list of upcoming shows on my website (click here).

I invite you to sign up to receive my free email newsletter, in which I list my upcoming shows and talk about my latest work. I send it irregularly, a few times a year.

My links

My paintings

Follow me on Twitter: @barbarajcarter

Why I call my landscapes neo-Pointillist landscape paintings

A bunch of my abstract dot paintings

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 131 other followers

Feeds

Newsletter Signup

Click here to receive my free email newsletter for up-to-date info on my shows, my art, and anything else that I'm up to. I send it out irregularly, a few times a year.

My latest Twitter tweets

Find Articles by Date


