Showing art under the redwoods

September 15, 2010 at 1:27 pm 5 comments

I had a spectacularly good art show at the Kings Mountain Art Fair on Labor Day weekend (Sept 4-6, 2010).

So many people came to the show, and so many enjoyed looking at my art, and so many bought my paintings that I started worrying about running out of art! I didn’t run out, but I’ll admit to having a somewhat reduced selection at the moment. (Don’t worry, I’m painting more.)

If you’re in the area (southern San Francisco Bay Area, California) and haven’t been to the show, you really must go (whether I’m there or not). It’s a sight to behold. Here, let me show you.

Deep in a dense redwood forest, for three days once a year, something magical takes place.

A village of white tents springs from the forest floor, like mushrooms after a rain.

In each tent you’ll find something different and unique. Sparkling jewelry, handthrown pottery, blown glass, carved wood, photography, paintings.

But wait, whose tent is this? Whose paintings are these?

Ah, there she is! The artist herself.

Grinning from ear to ear at her spectacular good fortune, to be included in this fabulous art show. See you there next year!

Entry filed under: Kings Mountain Art Fair, Shows, Travel.

Gearing up for the big art show My art on bus stops

5 Comments

  • 1. Fred  |  September 15, 2010 at 4:18 pm

    Remember: GRANDE POINTILLISM !

  • 2. barbarajcarter  |  September 15, 2010 at 4:20 pm

    Yes Fred, thank you for giving my painting style a Real Name. Let’s see if it catches on!

  • 3. Gregg Kitagawa  |  September 18, 2010 at 11:59 pm

    Your display of art was definitely part of the magic! Your landscapes are so vibrant. Thank you for coming.

  • 4. leslie (crookedstamper)  |  September 26, 2010 at 8:53 am

    Wow, a show IN the Redwoods. Looks fabulous!

  • 5. Kings Mountain Art Fair « Barbara J Carter  |  August 24, 2012 at 5:17 pm

    […] year marks the show’s 49th anniversary. (It’s older than I am.) It is an amazing and magical event, not to be missed. I hope to see you […]


Barbara J Carter

I'm an artist. I make paintings with dots.

I work in acrylic paint, in a couple of distinct styles: landscapes and abstracts.

Native to California, I've lived elsewhere and only recently returned to my home state. I now live in Los Angeles.

I mostly show my art in outdoor festivals in California. I also occasionally show my work in art galleries or open studio events. You can see an up-to-date list of upcoming shows on my website (click here).

I invite you to sign up to receive my free email newsletter, in which I list my upcoming shows and talk about my latest work. I send it irregularly, a few times a year.

My links

My paintings

Follow me on Twitter: @barbarajcarter

Why I call my landscapes neo-Pointillist landscape paintings

A bunch of my abstract dot paintings

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 132 other followers

Feeds

Recent Posts

Newsletter Signup

Click here to receive my free email newsletter for up-to-date info on my shows, my art, and anything else that I'm up to. I send it out irregularly, a few times a year.

My latest Twitter tweets

Find Articles by Date


