Bus-Stop Art

June 22, 2010 at 8:46 am 8 comments

My suburban city (Santa Clarita, CA) held a contest for artists to get their art publicly displayed for a month, and I won!

Well, I won 2 of 10 spots, anyway. We were only allowed to submit 2 pieces, but they picked both of mine. They will reproduce my art on large posters displayed prominently in the city’s bus stop shelters. These things are like small billboards, highly visible to passing traffic as well as the people waiting for the bus. So, my art will be on very public display for a month. Cool, eh?

Even better, there’s a cash prize, which I got double since they chose both of my pieces. And, I get a free booth space at the city’s October 2-3, 2010 art festival, which the bus-stop art will publicize. (You can see my complete show schedule here.)

If you’re in the area, you’ll be able to see my artwork thusly displayed for the entire month of September. Of course I’ll take photos of the bus stops with my art in them; I definitely want to document this! How often does a chance like this come along?

Here are the 2 pieces that will be on display:

"Pacheco Tree" painting by Barbara J Carter

"Satwiwa" painting by Barbara J Carter

Entry filed under: Awards, Bus Stop Art, Publicity.

Painting dots… lots of dots Little-Bitty Dot Painting “Dots 16”

8 Comments

  • 1. Fi  |  June 22, 2010 at 6:20 pm

    I can see why they picked them. Stunning paintings. Well done.

  • 2. barbarajcarter  |  June 22, 2010 at 6:28 pm

    Thanks Fi! I can’t wait to see them all blown up bigger than life-size.

  • 3. Judy  |  June 23, 2010 at 5:10 am

    Congratulations! Those are gorgeous paintings. So much texture. So much sunlight. Very California.

  • 4. Zachary Brown  |  June 23, 2010 at 2:49 pm

    AWESOME! So happy for you. What a thrill!

  • 5. Heidi  |  June 25, 2010 at 10:19 am

    Those are gorgeous! Congratulations to you… and to all the lucky bus-goers whose days will be brightened by your beautiful art!

  • 6. barbarajcarter  |  June 25, 2010 at 10:24 am

    Thanks everyone! I really appreciate it. Love!

  • 7. Dena Tollefson  |  June 26, 2010 at 8:33 am

    Wonderful work, Barbara! My favorite is “Pacheco Tree”- love your contrasts of warm and cool. I also like how you made your tree’s shadow against the ground alive with color.

    Dena Tollefson

    http://www.denatollefson.blogspot.com

  • 8. My art on bus stops « Barbara J Carter  |  September 23, 2010 at 12:01 pm

    […] 23, 2010 As you might recall, I entered 2 of my paintings into a competition to get my art displayed on local bus stops for a month. Both were selected, and now they’re […]


Barbara J Carter

I'm an artist. I make paintings with dots.

I work in acrylic paint, in a couple of distinct styles: landscapes and abstracts.

Native to California, I've lived elsewhere and only recently returned to my home state. I now live in Los Angeles.

I mostly show my art in outdoor festivals in California. I also occasionally show my work in art galleries or open studio events. You can see an up-to-date list of upcoming shows on my website (click here).

I invite you to sign up to receive my free email newsletter, in which I list my upcoming shows and talk about my latest work. I send it irregularly, a few times a year.

My links

My paintings

Follow me on Twitter: @barbarajcarter

Why I call my landscapes neo-Pointillist landscape paintings

A bunch of my abstract dot paintings

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 131 other followers

Feeds

Newsletter Signup

Click here to receive my free email newsletter for up-to-date info on my shows, my art, and anything else that I'm up to. I send it out irregularly, a few times a year.

My latest Twitter tweets

Find Articles by Date


