Beverly Hills art show: it’s no joke!

April 20, 2010 at 2:25 pm 4 comments

To me, Beverly Hills has always been something of a joke. I mean, it’s a real place: there are stores and houses and stuff, just like other parts of Los Angeles. But the people are pretty unbelievable. Nose- and boob-jobs outnumber normal, unaltered people. The ridiculous cars, the conspicuous consumption, the extreme self-absorption, the worship of fame and money: it’s all right there. A parade of farce.

But then there’s the art show. Held twice a year by the City of Beverly Hills, in May and October, it’s a showcase of genuinely good art. Held right there in the capital of shallow and crass. In, I might add, one of the nicest city parks you’ll ever see.

I’ve been trying to get accepted into this art show for a few years now. All I got was rejected, over and over, until this year. Now, finally I’ve been accepted into the May 2010 show.

Or, I thought I’d been accepted. The only problem? All I got was an email saying I’d been accepted… sent on April Fools Day. I was a little concerned.

Two weeks went by before I got another email, this time listing all the accepted artists and their booth assignments. There was my name, clear as day. I’m really in the show! Booth 159, right by Rodeo Drive (ha!) and Santa Monica Boulevard.

I’ve admired a lot of the art at this show in prior years. Many artists who normally only exhibit in galleries do this one outdoor show. It’s pretty prestigious to be included. (Rumor has it that the May show is even harder to get into than the October show, and yet somehow I got in!)

I’m showing at Beverly Hills this year. No joke.

Affaire in the Gardens
Saturday & Sunday May 15-16, 2010
10am – 6pm
9450 Santa Monica Blvd., Beverly Hills, California 90210

See all my upcoming art shows here.

Entry filed under: Shows.

Some spring wildflowers Art show in Sierra Madre May 1-2, 2010

4 Comments

  • 1. Jean Levert Hood  |  April 21, 2010 at 6:40 pm

    how awesome for you, Barbara!!

  • 2. barbarajcarter  |  April 23, 2010 at 9:25 am

    Thanks Jean! I hope everything is going well for you too!

  • 3. Joyce Owens  |  April 25, 2010 at 5:55 pm

    Congrats!!! I don’t blame you for being concerned when you get accepted on April Fool’s Day. Happy for you it was no joke!

    Joyce

  • 4. barbarajcarter  |  April 28, 2010 at 12:02 pm

    Thanks Joyce! It’s a real privilege to be included in the show this year.


Barbara J Carter

I'm an artist. I make paintings with dots.

I work in acrylic paint, in a couple of distinct styles: landscapes and abstracts.

Native to California, I've lived elsewhere and only recently returned to my home state. I now live in Los Angeles.

I mostly show my art in outdoor festivals in California. I also occasionally show my work in art galleries or open studio events. You can see an up-to-date list of upcoming shows on my website (click here).

I invite you to sign up to receive my free email newsletter, in which I list my upcoming shows and talk about my latest work. I send it irregularly, a few times a year.

My links

My paintings

Follow me on Twitter: @barbarajcarter

Why I call my landscapes neo-Pointillist landscape paintings

A bunch of my abstract dot paintings

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 132 other followers

Feeds

Recent Posts

Newsletter Signup

Click here to receive my free email newsletter for up-to-date info on my shows, my art, and anything else that I'm up to. I send it out irregularly, a few times a year.

My latest Twitter tweets

Find Articles by Date


