The Wildflowers of Wind Wolves Preserve

March 24, 2010 at 9:24 am

Last weekend I went for a walk through a bodacious field of wildflowers. A really big field, several miles long. An entire valley, actually.

It was the main hiking trail of the Wind Wolves Preserve. Although the preserve is several years old, the hiking trail only opened to the public last year.

It is a real treasure.

It’s also a bit of a trek just to get there. It’s pretty much in the middle of nowhere. (In reality it’s in the southern tip of the San Joaquin Valley, only a couple hours’ drive north of Los Angeles. But it feels like the middle of nowhere.)

Anyway, the main reason we went was for the wildflowers. We’ve had a pretty rainy winter here in southern California, and that usually means spectacular wildflowers in the spring. We’d heard the flowers were starting to bloom at Wind Wolves right now, so that’s where we went.

Were there wildflowers? Oh, yes!

Fiddlenecks

Blue Dicks and white flowers

Calfornia poppies

When we drove in, we were greeted by a friendly ranger who gave us a high-quality map and half-jokingly requested that we not do a Sound of Music-style  “Julie Andrews” through the meadows. There really was a temptation to run with abandon through the knee-high flowers. And maybe even to sing. But we were good and stayed on the path. And didn’t sing. Much to the other hikers’ relief, I’m sure.

Entry filed under: Hiking.

Meet me in La Quinta – March 11-14 New Painting: “NM Museum of Art”


Barbara J Carter

I'm an artist. I make paintings with dots.

I work in acrylic paint, in a couple of distinct styles: landscapes and abstracts.

Native to California, I've lived elsewhere and only recently returned to my home state. I now live in Los Angeles.

I mostly show my art in outdoor festivals in California. I also occasionally show my work in art galleries or open studio events. You can see an up-to-date list of upcoming shows on my website (click here).

I invite you to sign up to receive my free email newsletter, in which I list my upcoming shows and talk about my latest work. I send it irregularly, a few times a year.

My links

My paintings

Follow me on Twitter: @barbarajcarter

Why I call my landscapes neo-Pointillist landscape paintings

A bunch of my abstract dot paintings

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 132 other followers

Feeds

Recent Posts

Newsletter Signup

Click here to receive my free email newsletter for up-to-date info on my shows, my art, and anything else that I'm up to. I send it out irregularly, a few times a year.

My latest Twitter tweets

Find Articles by Date


