Goodbye 2009 (blowing a raspberry or two)

December 31, 2009 at 9:39 pm

Yes, it’s the end of the year. The time when everyone feels the need to take stock of how things went during the past year, and make plans (resolutions, whatever) for the new year to come.

So, OK, I’ll play along, but only reluctantly. And I’ll be blowing raspberries.

2009 was not a great year for me, financially. (I know, same for pretty much everyone else too.) Let’s all blow a big fat raspberry for the “Great Recession” and all the havoc it wreaked. Because it wreaked a LOT of havoc. A lot of people suffered a great deal. Lots of jobs were lost. And homes. And, ultimately, hope. Ick.

But there were some very good things this year too.

In my art life, I accomplished a number of goals I’d set out for myself. I applied to and was accepted into some better art shows than I’d done before. I joined a respectable (and selective) artist group in Los Angeles. I held my very first open studio event in my home. I showed my work at an art gallery over the summer. And I made some wonderful new artist friends along the way.

Sales were fewer than I hoped (drat that recession!). I was very grateful to the people who did buy art from me this year, when it had become so fashionable to not spend money during the recession. To each and every one of my collectors, I thank you from the bottom of my heart. Raspberry to those who let fear hold them back from buying art this year!

In my personal life, this year I triumphantly lost the 20 pounds that I’d somehow gained over the course of the previous decade. I also got better about exercising regularly. I started buying more of my food at local farmers markets, and also started baking my own bread. Yum! I cleaned out a lot of clutter I didn’t need and donated it all to charity. Cleaning things out felt so good. Raspberry to the excess stuff!

This year I finally found a good way I can give back to the community. I am now the volunteer webmaster for my local homeless shelter. I’m glad I found something I can so easily give which had previously been such a struggle for the shelter directors to deal with.

In 2009, clutter got cleared out, money was a bit scarce, but the truly important things grew and improved boundlessly. Raspberry to the recession! Later dude! Here’s to the real things, the intangibles, that make life worth living. Here’s to a better 2010.

Entry filed under: Holiday.

Is Art a Good Christmas Present? Art Inspiration Booklet for 2010


Barbara J Carter

I'm an artist. I make paintings with dots.

I work in acrylic paint, in a couple of distinct styles: landscapes and abstracts.

Native to California, I've lived elsewhere and only recently returned to my home state. I now live in Los Angeles.

I mostly show my art in outdoor festivals in California. I also occasionally show my work in art galleries or open studio events. You can see an up-to-date list of upcoming shows on my website (click here).

I invite you to sign up to receive my free email newsletter, in which I list my upcoming shows and talk about my latest work. I send it irregularly, a few times a year.

My links

My paintings

Follow me on Twitter: @barbarajcarter

Why I call my landscapes neo-Pointillist landscape paintings

A bunch of my abstract dot paintings

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 132 other followers

Feeds

Recent Posts

Newsletter Signup

Click here to receive my free email newsletter for up-to-date info on my shows, my art, and anything else that I'm up to. I send it out irregularly, a few times a year.

My latest Twitter tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Find Articles by Date


