Meet me in Manhattan Beach

September 30, 2009 at 11:00 am 1 comment

I’m making my Manhattan Beach debut this weekend (October 3-4, 2009) at the Manhattan Beach Hometown Fair. I’ll be showing my art in booth 252 in the Arts & Crafts section. Stop by between 10 and 5 and say hi!

The Manhattan Beach Hometown Fair is an annual event in the now-tony city of Manhattan Beach, California, the very same suburb of Los Angeles where I spent the entirety of my uneventful youth. Back in the day it was a sleepy little beach town full of surfers and hippies driving beat-up VW vans decorated with peace signs. The grubby little town is all grown-up and gentrified now, with wide clean cobblestone sidewalks and flower tubs and McMansions everywhere you look.

Anyway, they’ve been holding the Hometown Fair every year since dirt was new (OK, only 37 years). It’s a sprawling affair covering all of Live Oak Park plus a long stretch of Valley Drive and the median between Valley and Ardmore. You need to park a few miles away in a lot on Aviation Boulevard just south of Marine and take the free shuttle to the fair. Bring the kids, leave the dogs at home. The fair is very kid-oriented with all sorts of fun and goofy things for them to do.

Here’s a smattering of items I can see marked on the fair’s map: Beer garden, wine garden, chili cook-off, free games, children’s play area, free speech, giant slide, petting zoo, pony rides,  finger painting, wild animal show, velcro wall, pirates for hire, treasure hunt, magician, main stage & south stage, batting cages. You get the idea. Something for everyone!

Here’s the official Manhattan Beach Hometown Fair web site.

Meet me in Manhattan Beach!

Entry filed under: Shows.

New little-bitty painting “Dots 12 (Open Grid)” “Dots 13” little-bitty painting

1 Comment

  • 1. Katrina Rogers  |  September 30, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    Wow … if I had a little more freedom and a little less planned I’d take a flight down just to experience the fair again so many years later.

    So many memories, some of them really good!

    🙂


Barbara J Carter

I'm an artist. I make paintings with dots.

I work in acrylic paint, in a couple of distinct styles: landscapes and abstracts.

Native to California, I've lived elsewhere and only recently returned to my home state. I now live in Los Angeles.

I mostly show my art in outdoor festivals in California. I also occasionally show my work in art galleries or open studio events. You can see an up-to-date list of upcoming shows on my website (click here).

I invite you to sign up to receive my free email newsletter, in which I list my upcoming shows and talk about my latest work. I send it irregularly, a few times a year.

My links

My paintings

Follow me on Twitter: @barbarajcarter

Why I call my landscapes neo-Pointillist landscape paintings

A bunch of my abstract dot paintings

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 132 other followers

Feeds

Recent Posts

Newsletter Signup

Click here to receive my free email newsletter for up-to-date info on my shows, my art, and anything else that I'm up to. I send it out irregularly, a few times a year.

My latest Twitter tweets

Find Articles by Date


