New dot painting: “Blue-Green Square”

August 20, 2009 at 10:20 pm

Painting rows upon rows of little dots, all lined up, in a subtly changing color palette, is a challenge. My arm, shoulders, and back all tend to cramp up after a couple of hours. On this 24-inch-square canvas, I don’t know exactly how long it took to paint all the dots (there are 7921 of them) but as a rough estimate I’d say about 40 or 50 hours.

"Blue-Green Square" painting by Barbara J Carter “Blue-Green Square” by Barbara J Carter, acrylic on canvas, 24×24″ (61×61 cm). Available here.

This is the same size (and style) as my other 24×24 inch dot painting “Square, Red.”

Here’s a detail view showing the individual dots more clearly:

Detail of "Blue-Green Square" painting by Barbara J Carter Detail, “Blue-Green Square”

Once again I was amazed (and frustrated) at how long this larger painting took. The smaller 10×10″ size went much faster, and the “little bitty” 5×7″ ones only take a few hours. The frustration comes not so much from how long it takes to complete one of these larger paintings, but rather from a growing realization that my goal of pushing into even larger sizes is perhaps overambitious. But fear not, I haven’t given up my dream of painting larger quite yet. I just need to work on my painting method and improve efficiency wherever possible.

“Ah, but a man’s reach should exceed his grasp, or what’s a heaven for?” -Robert Browning

Entry filed under: Abstract, Acrylic, Painting.

Dogs and Art Galleries A Bewildering Visit to the Antelope Valley Fair and Alfalfa Festival


Barbara J Carter

I'm an artist. I make paintings with dots.

I work in acrylic paint, in a couple of distinct styles: landscapes and abstracts.

Native to California, I've lived elsewhere and only recently returned to my home state. I now live in Los Angeles.

I mostly show my art in outdoor festivals in California. I also occasionally show my work in art galleries or open studio events. You can see an up-to-date list of upcoming shows on my website (click here).

I invite you to sign up to receive my free email newsletter, in which I list my upcoming shows and talk about my latest work. I send it irregularly, a few times a year.

My links

My paintings

Follow me on Twitter: @barbarajcarter

Why I call my landscapes neo-Pointillist landscape paintings

A bunch of my abstract dot paintings

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 131 other followers

Feeds

Newsletter Signup

Click here to receive my free email newsletter for up-to-date info on my shows, my art, and anything else that I'm up to. I send it out irregularly, a few times a year.

My latest Twitter tweets

Find Articles by Date


