Good times at the gallery

July 30, 2009 at 12:43 pm 5 comments

Last Saturday I attended the opening reception at the Red Brick Gallery in Ventura, California. It was the opening reception for the show that I was a part of, naturally.

Here I am standing by my paintings. You can see why the gallery is called “red brick” eh?

Barbara J Carter at Red Brick Gallery reception, July 2009

The big painting in the middle is the one that made it into the local press.

The reception was good fun, although three hours of standing is a little hard on the feet. Good thing I wore comfy shoes. I got to talk to a lot of people, watched a potter throw clay on a small wheel (right there in the gallery, with no more than a tarp to protect the carpet), chatted with the other artists, and generally had a good time.

The show, including my paintings (they’re on the right when you walk in the door) will be up through August 16, 2009. I hope you’ll get a chance to check it out!

Red Brick isn’t your usual stuffy art gallery, it’s more like a cool store crammed full of beautiful and useful things. Definitely something for everyone. Open 7 days a week for the summer. Red Brick Gallery, 315 E. Main Street, Ventura, California.

When you go, tell Jennifer (the owner) I said hi.

Entry filed under: Gallery, Shows.

Some Good Press Dogs and Art Galleries

5 Comments

  • 1. Zachary Brown  |  July 30, 2009 at 2:54 pm

    I’ll be there in a flash if I can ever get to Ventura! =-) I’ve liked that painting for awhile but Its good to see it to scale w/ a human, its a very nice size as well.

  • 2. zacharyhillart  |  August 6, 2009 at 7:10 pm

    Beautiful exhibition Barbara! The picture does give off a less than stuffy vibe for an art gallery. If I am ever out there I will definitely check it out

  • 3. Claudia  |  August 19, 2009 at 6:55 pm

    Love your work, Barbara. Dot painting got into my blood when I lived in Australia for 2 years. The canvas is not important–it’s the story–you’ll find Aboriginal dot paintings on shoes, tree trunks, rocks, any surface will do. But your paintings are exquisite.

    Loved your comment on “rain” on Havi’s blog–I can relate–Texas is in a SuperDrought, 60 days of 100+ temperatures and it’s only mid-August. My daughter was born in Dillon Beach, CA in 1976–a record drought year. It did make some fine wine, though.

  • 4. barbarajcarter  |  August 20, 2009 at 10:23 pm

    Thanks everyone!

    Claudia, Australian Western Desert Aboriginal painters are a huge inspiration for me, even more in my abstract work than my “neo-Pointillist” landscapes. I’m always tickled when someone recognizes that influence in my work.

  • 5. Claudia  |  August 31, 2009 at 4:24 pm

    Beautiful combination of brush strokes!! your blog is interesting and beautiful. Very inspirational. I want to come back and read more when I have mor time. I love the big one and am glad it was chosen for a brochure front, it would make people want to go/see the show.


Barbara J Carter

I'm an artist. I make paintings with dots.

I work in acrylic paint, in a couple of distinct styles: landscapes and abstracts.

Native to California, I've lived elsewhere and only recently returned to my home state. I now live in Los Angeles.

I mostly show my art in outdoor festivals in California. I also occasionally show my work in art galleries or open studio events. You can see an up-to-date list of upcoming shows on my website (click here).

I invite you to sign up to receive my free email newsletter, in which I list my upcoming shows and talk about my latest work. I send it irregularly, a few times a year.

My links

My paintings

Follow me on Twitter: @barbarajcarter

Why I call my landscapes neo-Pointillist landscape paintings

A bunch of my abstract dot paintings

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 132 other followers

Feeds

Recent Posts

Newsletter Signup

Click here to receive my free email newsletter for up-to-date info on my shows, my art, and anything else that I'm up to. I send it out irregularly, a few times a year.

My latest Twitter tweets

Find Articles by Date


