“Yellow Square” painting

July 2, 2009 at 12:58 pm 4 comments

Yellow Square, acrylic on canvas, 10x10", 2009

Yellow Square, acrylic on canvas, 10x10", 2009

This is another in my abstract dot series, which began with the “little bitty” dot paintings and includes the larger “Square, Red.” Like the others, it is a highly tactile painting, each dot being slightly raised and rounded. I am particularly intrigued by the optical “flare” effect along the diagonals. It’s an optical illusion, but it is particularly striking in this painting.

It is elegantly framed as shown below:

Yellow Square painting by Barbara J Carter, shown framed

“Yellow Square”, acrylic on canvas, 10×10″ (frame 11.5 x 11.5″) is available for $350 plus shipping. Sales tax in California only. It comes framed and wired to hang.

Buy Now

No PayPal account needed, just a credit card.

Entry filed under: Abstract, Acrylic, Painting.

One Angry Rattlesnake Some Good Press

4 Comments

  • 1. Zachary Brown  |  July 2, 2009 at 3:13 pm

    Simply glorious! It radiates majesty. I’m about done with my latest painting. We both havent’ posted in a while but you have been busy with festivals, I’ve just been lazy.

  • 2. canhasdesign  |  July 2, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    Like looking into the sun through a polarized screen, bright and intense. I love it!

  • 3. barbarajcarter  |  July 2, 2009 at 3:59 pm

    Thanks guys, I really appreciate your taking the time to stop by and comment.

    Zach, you’re not lazy, you’re just living life. I look forward to seeing your next painting, whenever you finish it.

  • 4. New dot painting: “Blue-Green Square” « Barbara J Carter  |  December 17, 2012 at 11:27 am

    […] again I was amazed (and frustrated) at how long this larger painting took. The smaller 10×10″ size went much faster, and the “little bitty” 5×7″ ones only take a few hours. […]


Barbara J Carter

I'm an artist. I make paintings with dots.

I work in acrylic paint, in a couple of distinct styles: landscapes and abstracts.

Native to California, I've lived elsewhere and only recently returned to my home state. I now live in Los Angeles.

I mostly show my art in outdoor festivals in California. I also occasionally show my work in art galleries or open studio events. You can see an up-to-date list of upcoming shows on my website (click here).

I invite you to sign up to receive my free email newsletter, in which I list my upcoming shows and talk about my latest work. I send it irregularly, a few times a year.

My links

My paintings

Follow me on Twitter: @barbarajcarter

Why I call my landscapes neo-Pointillist landscape paintings

A bunch of my abstract dot paintings

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 131 other followers

Feeds

Newsletter Signup

Click here to receive my free email newsletter for up-to-date info on my shows, my art, and anything else that I'm up to. I send it out irregularly, a few times a year.

My latest Twitter tweets

Find Articles by Date


