New painting: “Winding Road”

April 16, 2009 at 2:22 pm 3 comments

At last!

"Winding Road" by Barbara J Carter, 10x8", acrylic on canvas, 2009

"Winding Road" by Barbara J Carter, 10x8", acrylic on canvas, 2009

I started this painting so long ago I’m not sure when it was exactly. It was last year sometime. 6 months ago? More? At any rate, I got it about 75% done, got stuck, and set it aside. That’s what I do when I’m not sure where to go next with a painting. I’ll just prop it up somewhere in my studio and leave it alone for a while. The idea is that my subconscious can work on the problem in the background while I busy myself with other things.

Usually this works great. Within a few days, or sometimes a few weeks, I’ll get re-inspired and get back on track. But that didn’t happen with this painting. It sat and sat, month after month, and I never quite figured out what to do with it. I began to think I’d never finish it.

Until a couple days ago, that is. Suddenly I was tired of working on all the big canvases I’ve got in progress right now. I felt like painting small again. And there it sat, a little 10×8 inch canvas 75% done, just needing a little finishing-up. I grabbed it and started in. I had no hesitation, it was obvious what it needed. Like I’d never been stuck at all. I finished it up, signed it, and here it is!

I have no idea why it took me so long to finish it. But I’m glad it’s finally done.

"Winding Road" framed

"Winding Road" framed

This painting depicts a curve in a dirt road. The road is Mulholland Drive, the famous Los Angeles landmark. What most people don’t know is that part of Mulholland is an unpaved dirt road, closed to automobile traffic but open to pedestrians. I took a very nice walk on it in 2007, and took numerous photos along the way. (One other photo became the basis for another painting, “Dirt Mulholland”, which is also available.)

What I love about this painting is how it takes a perfectly ordinary (perhaps even rather dull) scene, a dirt road surrounded by scrub, and turns it into something special. Anyone can make a glorious scene look glorious. I think it’s more interesting to take an ordinary scene and turn it into something magical.

This painting is sold. Please visit my website for more paintings like it.

Entry filed under: Acrylic, Landscape, Painting.

New dot painting: “Square, Red” The World’s Biggest Artist Colony

3 Comments

  • 1. Adeaner  |  April 16, 2009 at 4:54 pm

    Kooly Bon Zooly !
    Nobody paints like you, Barb.
    Just beautiful.

  • 2. Carol Nelson  |  April 19, 2009 at 4:04 pm

    Hi Barbara,
    I just found your blog. I love your dot paintings – very unique. You might want to consider a technique I use in creating little squares out of modeling compound.
    A painting I featured on my blog on April 4, 2009 called Glitter Gulch talked about the technique.
    My blog http://www.carolnelsonfineart.blogspot.com.
    Nice to “meet” you.
    Carol

  • 3. José  |  June 3, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    Hi Barbara,

    I could probably write a speach about this work, but let’s keep it simple : it’s about values 🙂
    Good work.

    Kind regards,

    José


Barbara J Carter

I'm an artist. I make paintings with dots.

I work in acrylic paint, in a couple of distinct styles: landscapes and abstracts.

Native to California, I've lived elsewhere and only recently returned to my home state. I now live in Los Angeles.

I mostly show my art in outdoor festivals in California. I also occasionally show my work in art galleries or open studio events. You can see an up-to-date list of upcoming shows on my website (click here).

I invite you to sign up to receive my free email newsletter, in which I list my upcoming shows and talk about my latest work. I send it irregularly, a few times a year.

My links

My paintings

Follow me on Twitter: @barbarajcarter

Why I call my landscapes neo-Pointillist landscape paintings

A bunch of my abstract dot paintings

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 132 other followers

Feeds

Recent Posts

Newsletter Signup

Click here to receive my free email newsletter for up-to-date info on my shows, my art, and anything else that I'm up to. I send it out irregularly, a few times a year.

My latest Twitter tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Find Articles by Date


