New dot painting: “Square, Red”

April 3, 2009 at 12:19 pm 8 comments

The time has come. It’s time to scale up from my little bitty 5×7″ dot paintings to something bigger. 24 inches square, in fact. Here’s the first one.

"Square, Red" by Barbara J Carter, 24x24", acrylic on canvas, 2009

"Square, Red" by Barbara J Carter, 24x24", acrylic on canvas, 2009

There are 7832 little pencil-sized dots covering the entire surface in a grid, forming concentric squares of varying colors ranging from white at the center to a very dark almost-black color at the edge. Behind the dots lurks an organic multi-hued pattern resembling camouflage.

"Square, Red" detail, Barbara J Carter

"Square, Red" detail, Barbara J Carter

It took longer than I expected to apply all the dots. I could only paint for a couple hours at a time before my back and shoulder began seizing up, and my hands would start shaking. Shaky hands are no good for precision work! But once begun I really wanted to finish it up, so I would take a short break then get right back to it. I work like that a lot. I call it “sprinting.” It took about 2 weeks of highly concentrated effort to complete this painting.

This is my first foray into scaling up my smaller experimental works, but certainly not the last. It is the beginning of a whole new series of paintings for me, a series that I’ve been contemplating for several years now. Although the formal elements of the paintings are purely abstract, there are some very concrete ideas behind these works. I will talk more about the conceptual underpinnings later. (You can always email me or send me a tweet if you’d like to talk artspeak with me.)

Oh yeah, there’s also a story behind the title. I’ll talk about that sometime too.

This painting is available for $900, plus shipping (and sales tax in California). I deliver free in the Los Angeles area. I can ship anywhere in the world that FedEx Ground services. The painting is signed on the back, and wired to hang. Framing is unnecessary. The 1 3/8″ deep sides are painted black and all staples are neatly out of sight on the back.

Please contact me if interested, or click the “Buy Now” button to purchase.

Buy Now

No PayPal account needed, just a credit card.

Entry filed under: Abstract, Acrylic.

NPR interview New painting: “Winding Road”

8 Comments

  • 1. Zachary Brown  |  April 3, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    Oh my Lord! That is amazing… I want one in 24 x 36 next!!!! I’ve loved all of your dots series but this one is the most impactful b/c of its size. Don’t stop!

  • 2. Jolie  |  April 3, 2009 at 12:44 pm

    I love it! Wow!

  • 3. Lisa  |  April 3, 2009 at 11:55 pm

    Wonderful dots!! Rich, warm, vibrant and visually stunning pieces. Well worth your labor of love. keep scaling up – bigger dots for viewing from a longer distance. All sizes are nice.

  • 4. Fred  |  April 4, 2009 at 11:18 am

    Way to go! Great milestone.

  • 5. quinncreative  |  April 16, 2009 at 7:24 pm

    Your work always amazes me! The dots, the color, the intellectual challenge. It’s just perfect.

  • 6. mosaicmoods  |  April 27, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    I bet it’s sensational in person at that size. I like the new series.

  • 7. “Yellow Square” painting « Barbara J Carter  |  July 2, 2009 at 12:58 pm

    […] dot series, which began with the “little bitty” dot paintings and includes the larger “Square, Red.” Like the others, it is a highly tactile painting, each dot being slightly raised and rounded. I am […]

  • 8. New dot painting: “Blue-Green Square” « Barbara J Carter  |  December 17, 2012 at 11:27 am

    […] This is the same size (and style) as my other 24×24 inch dot painting “Square, Red.” […]


Barbara J Carter

I'm an artist. I make paintings with dots.

I work in acrylic paint, in a couple of distinct styles: landscapes and abstracts.

Native to California, I've lived elsewhere and only recently returned to my home state. I now live in Los Angeles.

I mostly show my art in outdoor festivals in California. I also occasionally show my work in art galleries or open studio events. You can see an up-to-date list of upcoming shows on my website (click here).

I invite you to sign up to receive my free email newsletter, in which I list my upcoming shows and talk about my latest work. I send it irregularly, a few times a year.

My links

My paintings

Follow me on Twitter: @barbarajcarter

Why I call my landscapes neo-Pointillist landscape paintings

A bunch of my abstract dot paintings

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 131 other followers

Feeds

Newsletter Signup

Click here to receive my free email newsletter for up-to-date info on my shows, my art, and anything else that I'm up to. I send it out irregularly, a few times a year.

My latest Twitter tweets

Find Articles by Date


