New Paintings: “Dots 7” and “Dots 8”

March 28, 2009 at 8:00 pm 4 comments

Further experimenting with the formal geometric ordering of the dots, I thought I’d try having two focal points rather than the single central focus of all the other little bitty dots paintings so far. I also tried mixing up the colors a little more. It’s all in the name of experimentation.

"Dots 7" by Barbara J Carter, 5x7", acrylic on canvas panel, 2009

"Dots 7" by Barbara J Carter, 5x7", acrylic on canvas panel, 2009

“Dots 7” is sold.

The result is at least interesting, and gives me more options for covering the larger areas of much bigger paintings. The dots will be the same size, so there will be a LOT more of them on a bigger painting. So blocking out multiple repeating patterns instead of a single overall pattern is a possibility. At any rate, “Dots 7” helps me visualize how that might work in a larger painting.

Then, I decided to try something completely different, like making curving lines and areas out of the dots instead of the previous squares or random patterns. Again, all in the name of experimentation.

"Dots 8" by Barbara J Carter, 5x7", acrylic on canvas panel, 2009

"Dots 8" by Barbara J Carter, 5x7", acrylic on canvas panel, 2009

“Dots 8” is also sold.

“Dots 8” kind of reminds me of the eye of an ancient Egyptian god, or perhaps some fishy sea creature. It was supposed to be just a random intersection of lines, but it’s very hard not to “see” objects in this kind of image. And that’s a useful lesson for me too. I probably won’t be using the “eye” motif in any future paintings, but it’s certainly different from the other experiments!

Entry filed under: Abstract, Acrylic, Little Bitty Paintings, Painting.

Going Geometric: “Dots 6” painting NPR interview

4 Comments

  • 1. Zachary Brown  |  March 29, 2009 at 4:59 am

    I love this. You re really mixing it up. “7” is a huge hit with me.

  • 2. Tina Mammoser  |  March 29, 2009 at 5:14 am

    I’m really enjoying seeing how you’re experimenting with the geometry in these. Thanks for sharing! 🙂 (ps. 8 looks like a dinosaur to me, heh)

  • 3. Katie  |  March 30, 2009 at 11:37 pm

    Barbara, your paintings look wonderful. I thought I’d poke my head in here to see how you are doing. I like the dots a lot and they do scream out to be touched–so the grocery bags are genius.

    Not much news on my end. Finished fifth draft of novel and sent it back to agent. Working on short things and hoping to sell some of them.

    -k

  • 4. Jolie  |  March 31, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    I love these– they have a sense of movement that makes my eyes happy. I’m so glad I discovered your work.


Barbara J Carter

I'm an artist. I make paintings with dots.

I work in acrylic paint, in a couple of distinct styles: landscapes and abstracts.

Native to California, I've lived elsewhere and only recently returned to my home state. I now live in Los Angeles.

I mostly show my art in outdoor festivals in California. I also occasionally show my work in art galleries or open studio events. You can see an up-to-date list of upcoming shows on my website (click here).

I invite you to sign up to receive my free email newsletter, in which I list my upcoming shows and talk about my latest work. I send it irregularly, a few times a year.

My links

My paintings

Follow me on Twitter: @barbarajcarter

Why I call my landscapes neo-Pointillist landscape paintings

A bunch of my abstract dot paintings

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 131 other followers

Feeds

Newsletter Signup

Click here to receive my free email newsletter for up-to-date info on my shows, my art, and anything else that I'm up to. I send it out irregularly, a few times a year.

My latest Twitter tweets

Find Articles by Date


