New Painting: “Satwiwa”

February 17, 2009 at 8:32 pm 5 comments

If you read my “Work in Progress” posts (here, here, here, and here) you’ll recognize this painting.

"Satwiwa" by Barbara J Carter, 40x30", acrylic on canvas, 2009.

"Satwiwa" by Barbara J Carter, 40x30", acrylic on canvas, 2009.

Satwiwa is the Chumash (Native American) word for “the bluffs”, and was the name of one of their villages. Satwiwa is now the name of an educational center located within the Rancho Sierra Vista park in the Santa Monica Mountains (near Los Angeles).

I took a lot of photos during my recent dayhike in Rancho Sierra Vista, and I think many of them may end up being used for paintings. At least two have so far (I’ll post the other one soon). I got some really good reference material there. And that was just one visit! That’s really good news, because many of my dayhikes end up with no usable material at all. So I guess it all balances out.

This painting is available for $1200. It is wired and ready to hang. It is not framed, but the canvas is stapled neatly on the back and the deep sides are painted solid red, so it can be displayed without a frame. I offer free delivery to most of the Los Angeles area, and shipping via FedEx Ground to anywhere else in the world. Purchasing information is here.

Entry filed under: Acrylic, Landscape, Painting, Pointillism.

Art for Valentine’s Day New Painting: “Dots 1”

5 Comments

  • 1. jaggedsmile  |  February 20, 2009 at 1:49 pm

    Barbara,
    Oh, the sweet pain you cause when you post your paintings. I’m sure you understand the gentle punch to the gut I receive when I view your paintings for sale and don’t have the funds to make a purchase. It’s made even worse by the fact I know exactly where in my living room I would hang this one…north wall….right above the couch so I would see it in the mornings as I came downstairs to go to work. It would get just the right dash of early morning sunlight. Oh well….

    Thankfully, I can at least enjoy this one on your site. One day though, lady, your work will be MINE, dang it!

  • 2. carolepatrice  |  March 12, 2009 at 3:50 am

    This is lovely Barbara – you have a unique style that is pleasing to the eye

  • 3. mosaicmoods  |  March 13, 2009 at 7:35 pm

    So glad I found you on Havi’s blog. I love your style and colors! I imagine this is stunning in person!
    ~Just another starving artist

  • 4. Lousy customer service « Barbara J Carter  |  March 16, 2009 at 9:29 pm

    […] later become the reference for future paintings) but also to photograph my finished paintings (like this one) for this blog and for my personal archive. One of the things I really loved about the camera was […]

  • 5. New Painting: “Satwiwa 2″ « Barbara J Carter  |  December 17, 2012 at 11:16 am

    […] of the hills and meadows at Satwiwa caught my eye. (I’ve blogged about Satwiwa before, here.) It seemed the intriguing shape of the land was just begging to be captured in a painting. So I […]


Barbara J Carter

I'm an artist. I make paintings with dots.

I work in acrylic paint, in a couple of distinct styles: landscapes and abstracts.

Native to California, I've lived elsewhere and only recently returned to my home state. I now live in Los Angeles.

I mostly show my art in outdoor festivals in California. I also occasionally show my work in art galleries or open studio events. You can see an up-to-date list of upcoming shows on my website (click here).

I invite you to sign up to receive my free email newsletter, in which I list my upcoming shows and talk about my latest work. I send it irregularly, a few times a year.

My links

My paintings

Follow me on Twitter: @barbarajcarter

Why I call my landscapes neo-Pointillist landscape paintings

A bunch of my abstract dot paintings

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 132 other followers

Feeds

Recent Posts

Newsletter Signup

Click here to receive my free email newsletter for up-to-date info on my shows, my art, and anything else that I'm up to. I send it out irregularly, a few times a year.

My latest Twitter tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Find Articles by Date


