Giving Thanks

November 26, 2008 at 7:14 pm

It’s Thanksgiving here in the US. It’s my favorite holiday.

There’s no shopping stress, no present-giving stress, and no present-receiving stress. It’s not about any particular person. It’s not about candy. It’s not just for children.

It’s when you get together with the people you love the most and share good, bountiful food. It’s so un-commercial that stores completely ignore it in their rush to start the Christmas shopping frenzy. I love how Thanksgiving is a genuine holiday. It gets to the core of what’s really important in life.

Thanksgiving is a time for giving thanks. Traditionally we think of it as a celebration of a successful harvest, but lately I think we’ve expanded it to include a general celebration of all the things in our lives that we are grateful for.

I have much to be grateful for these days. So much that it’s impossible to list everything, and you don’t want to read it all anyway. I’m one of those people who is grateful for all the little things in life in addition to the big things. I am of course grateful for my health, the roof over my head, and the food on my table. But I am also grateful every time I come home and my house is still there (hey, I live in the land of earthquakes and wildfires, you can’t take things for granted here!).

I am grateful for the time that allows me to explore my art. I am grateful for the art collectors who have purchased my paintings, and I am thankful for all the art appreciators who have taken the time to speak to me about my art, in the process teaching me more about my work than I ever could have learned on my own.

I am grateful for the love that has come into my life. My cup runneth over.

I hope you have much to be grateful for too. Happy Thanksgiving!

Entry filed under: Painting.

Postcards Experimenting with Abstraction


Barbara J Carter

I'm an artist. I make paintings with dots.

I work in acrylic paint, in a couple of distinct styles: landscapes and abstracts.

Native to California, I've lived elsewhere and only recently returned to my home state. I now live in Los Angeles.

I mostly show my art in outdoor festivals in California. I also occasionally show my work in art galleries or open studio events. You can see an up-to-date list of upcoming shows on my website (click here).

I invite you to sign up to receive my free email newsletter, in which I list my upcoming shows and talk about my latest work. I send it irregularly, a few times a year.

My links

My paintings

Follow me on Twitter: @barbarajcarter

Why I call my landscapes neo-Pointillist landscape paintings

A bunch of my abstract dot paintings

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 132 other followers

Feeds

Recent Posts

Newsletter Signup

Click here to receive my free email newsletter for up-to-date info on my shows, my art, and anything else that I'm up to. I send it out irregularly, a few times a year.

My latest Twitter tweets

Find Articles by Date


