How to Customize Plastic Drawer Storage Units

September 19, 2008 at 10:38 am 1 comment

I just discovered a hidden feature of the plastic drawer storage units sold by Staples (this and this). They are modular!

There are little tabs inside each of the 4 corners under each drawer that allow the drawers to separate. (Skinny fingers help.) You can rearrange, add, or remove drawers. You can take two units and make them into one. Or do what I’ve done and take a drawer from one to give to the other:

I already had the 6-drawer model, which I’d bought years ago. (Nice to know they still make these things exactly the same.) I needed another unit, but it needed to be slightly shorter to fit the space I have for it. All the units are the same height, so I bought a 4-drawer unit thinking I was going to have to cut it down with a hacksaw. But no, I just had to push the little tabs! No hacksaw needed! I’m so pleased, I just had to share my discovery. (Does that make me some kind of storage geek?)

So, now I have a 7-drawer unit and a 3-drawer one. This is all part of the ongoing studio reorganization process, I promise!

Okay, I have to admit, the product description page SAYS these things are modular. I just never noticed before.

Entry filed under: Organization.

Studio Reorganization Progress Organizing for the Visual Person

1 Comment

  • 1. Diane Bland-Kuta  |  April 3, 2009 at 4:10 pm

    I have a question. I’ve got my eye on the drawers by Staples that are 2 large drawers and 2 small so can I buy one more drawer and add it to make 3 large and 2 small. thanks so much for explaining all of that to us. Diane


Barbara J Carter

I'm an artist. I make paintings with dots.

I work in acrylic paint, in a couple of distinct styles: landscapes and abstracts.

Native to California, I've lived elsewhere and only recently returned to my home state. I now live in Los Angeles.

I mostly show my art in outdoor festivals in California. I also occasionally show my work in art galleries or open studio events. You can see an up-to-date list of upcoming shows on my website (click here).

I invite you to sign up to receive my free email newsletter, in which I list my upcoming shows and talk about my latest work. I send it irregularly, a few times a year.

My links

My paintings

Follow me on Twitter: @barbarajcarter

Why I call my landscapes neo-Pointillist landscape paintings

A bunch of my abstract dot paintings

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 131 other followers

Feeds

Newsletter Signup

Click here to receive my free email newsletter for up-to-date info on my shows, my art, and anything else that I'm up to. I send it out irregularly, a few times a year.

My latest Twitter tweets

Find Articles by Date


