“Merced Riverbank” painting

August 13, 2008 at 5:28 pm

"Merced Riverbank", 2008, Barbara J Carter, acrylic on canvas, 14x11" “Merced Riverbank”, 2008, acrylic on canvas, 14×11″

I wanted to paint some landscapes with water, so I pulled out some photos from a couple of road trips I took last year. One trip included the central coast of California, and that painting is still in the planning stages. The other trip included a swing through the city of Merced and a tour of the nearby countryside, including a nice view of the Merced River. That’s the subject of this painting.

I had some fun playing with the colors in the sky, and then subtly pulling them into the water. The air quality around Merced is rather poor, with a brown haze visible daily. The orange colors I used in the sky are my wry nod to the smog.

I took a chance with the composition, allowing a major division to fall on the halfway line. See how the edge of the water cuts the painting almost exactly in half? That’s considered a big no-no in painting composition. But after all, rules are there to be broken occasionally. The trick here was to keep both halves looking like they are part of the same painting.

This painting is one of two I recently completed. Both have very simple compositions. I’m enjoying the freedom that a simpler composition allows me. It really lets me play around with color and technique. Certainly this is work, but it’s play too. An element of play keeps the creative juices flowing.

This painting is sold.

See my website for more paintings like this one: www.barbarajcarter.com

Entry filed under: Acrylic, Landscape, Painting.

Inspiration: Georges Seurat Inspiration: Paul Powis


Barbara J Carter

I'm an artist. I make paintings with dots.

I work in acrylic paint, in a couple of distinct styles: landscapes and abstracts.

Native to California, I've lived elsewhere and only recently returned to my home state. I now live in Los Angeles.

I mostly show my art in outdoor festivals in California. I also occasionally show my work in art galleries or open studio events. You can see an up-to-date list of upcoming shows on my website (click here).

I invite you to sign up to receive my free email newsletter, in which I list my upcoming shows and talk about my latest work. I send it irregularly, a few times a year.

My links

My paintings

Follow me on Twitter: @barbarajcarter

Why I call my landscapes neo-Pointillist landscape paintings

A bunch of my abstract dot paintings

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 132 other followers

Feeds

Recent Posts

Newsletter Signup

Click here to receive my free email newsletter for up-to-date info on my shows, my art, and anything else that I'm up to. I send it out irregularly, a few times a year.

My latest Twitter tweets

Find Articles by Date


