“Ventana Afternoon” painting

June 18, 2008 at 12:46 am

\ “Ventana Afternoon”, 2008, acrylic on canvas, 12×9″

In Big Sur, on California’s rugged and very scenic coast, lies a remarkable retreat. The Ventana Inn is not so much a hotel or a resort as it is a secluded sanctuary tucked into the woods, a place to REALLY get away from it all. This is not a place to “see and be seen”, rather it is a place to slip away from the madding crowds and enjoy natural surroundings in complete luxury and peace.

The grounds of the Ventana Inn provide hiking trails for the more adventurous guests. One trail, quite level and well-marked (and even lit at night), leads to the inn’s world-class restaurant, Cielo. (Guests who prefer not to traipse through the woods for their dinner have the option of golf-cart transport via back roads.) Other trails snake through the grounds, quickly leaving behind the gloriously landscaped vicinity of the guest rooms for the rugged surrounding hills.

It was on one of these latter paths, late in the afternoon, that I came upon this scene. The sun, low in the sky, cast its warm light on the pine trees and the grassy hill. Usually I hike earlier in the afternoon for safety’s sake, to ensure plenty of daylight for the return trip. In this case, I had ambled only a few minutes from my room and therefore felt quite safe to venture out so close to sunset. Thus the angle of the sun is particularly low, and I delighted in the way the pine trees caught the warm amber glow. Shortly after snapping the shot, I realized the sun was just about to slip behind a hill, and it was high time for me to return to the civilized sanctuary of my room.

It is more than a year later now, but I finally painted this painting from my snapshot. Good thing digital photos keep well.

This painting is available for $280 unframed or $330 framed, and can be shipped anywhere. It is wired and ready to hang. The edges are finished so framing is optional.

Email inquiries welcome: info@barbarajcarter.com

All my paintings are priced by size; prices increase periodically. If you are viewing this more than a few months after my posting, please consult my website for current prices: www.barbarajcarter.com

Entry filed under: Acrylic, Big Sur, Landscape, Painting, Tree Paintings.

Photos from the Conejo Valley Art Museum Artwalk “Bright Hills” mini painting


Barbara J Carter

I'm an artist. I make paintings with dots.

I work in acrylic paint, in a couple of distinct styles: landscapes and abstracts.

Native to California, I've lived elsewhere and only recently returned to my home state. I now live in Los Angeles.

I mostly show my art in outdoor festivals in California. I also occasionally show my work in art galleries or open studio events. You can see an up-to-date list of upcoming shows on my website (click here).

I invite you to sign up to receive my free email newsletter, in which I list my upcoming shows and talk about my latest work. I send it irregularly, a few times a year.

My links

My paintings

Follow me on Twitter: @barbarajcarter

Why I call my landscapes neo-Pointillist landscape paintings

A bunch of my abstract dot paintings

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 131 other followers

Feeds

Newsletter Signup

Click here to receive my free email newsletter for up-to-date info on my shows, my art, and anything else that I'm up to. I send it out irregularly, a few times a year.

My latest Twitter tweets

Find Articles by Date


