“San Joaquin Prairie” painting

May 15, 2008 at 12:10 pm 4 comments

\ “San Joaquin Prairie”, 2008, acrylic on canvas, 40×30″

I’ve lived in the midwest US, and I’ve seen plenty of prairies. As it turns out, California has its share of horizon-spanning plains too. I found one such in the San Joaquin Valley, north of Merced. Not pancake-flat, the grassy land instead gently rolled as far as the eye could see. It may have been part of a vast pasturage for cattle – I did see barbed wire. What was most striking to me was its sheer expanse, seemingly endless, from horizon to horizon. It felt otherworldly.

I snapped a quick photo out the car window while whizzing past. The picture was a little blurry, but the vision of the astonishing expanse of dry grass was etched into my memory. Between photo, memory, and a little painterly abstraction, I bring you this painting.

It may be that “prairie” is not quite the technically correct term here, but I liked the quirky midwestern reference.

By the way, this painting is the finished version of the canvas shown in my posts “Blank Canvas” and “Blank no more“. Yes, the big ones do take a while.

This painting is sold, but many others may be seen on my web site at www.barbarajcarter.com

Entry filed under: Acrylic, Landscape, Painting.

Photos from Studio City Hot times in Sierra Madre

4 Comments

  • 1. Anne-Marie  |  May 22, 2008 at 5:05 pm

    I love it; the use of color choice is amazing. The blue skyline reminds me of a beautiful water portrait.

  • 2. Chris Bolmeier  |  June 21, 2008 at 8:48 am

    Barbara,
    I’ve thought about you many times and can see that you are still diligently brushing up a storm and they’re beautiful. Love the mini paintings. I love the strokes in the foreground of this painting.
    Paint on!

  • […] taken out a car window I was able to select two crops to make two paintings. The first painting, “San Joaquin Prairie”, was so much fun to paint that I knew I had to paint the second one. And here it is! They turned […]

  • 4. Blank no more « Barbara J Carter  |  August 12, 2009 at 10:08 pm

    […] painting still has a long way to go, but rest assured: you’ll see it here when it’s […]


Barbara J Carter

I'm an artist. I make paintings with dots.

I work in acrylic paint, in a couple of distinct styles: landscapes and abstracts.

Native to California, I've lived elsewhere and only recently returned to my home state. I now live in Los Angeles.

I mostly show my art in outdoor festivals in California. I also occasionally show my work in art galleries or open studio events. You can see an up-to-date list of upcoming shows on my website (click here).

I invite you to sign up to receive my free email newsletter, in which I list my upcoming shows and talk about my latest work. I send it irregularly, a few times a year.

My links

My paintings

Follow me on Twitter: @barbarajcarter

Why I call my landscapes neo-Pointillist landscape paintings

A bunch of my abstract dot paintings

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 132 other followers

Feeds

Recent Posts

Newsletter Signup

Click here to receive my free email newsletter for up-to-date info on my shows, my art, and anything else that I'm up to. I send it out irregularly, a few times a year.

My latest Twitter tweets

Find Articles by Date


