“Jacinto Reyes” mini painting

April 23, 2008 at 3:45 pm

\ “Jacinto Reyes”, 2008, acrylic on paper, 5×5″ matted to 14×11″

Taking Route 33 north out of Ojai quickly transports you to a completely different world. The highway, called the Jacinto Reyes Scenic Byway, twists its way through some of Southern California’s most beautiful and rugged terrain. Mile upon mile, the magnificent chaparral-covered hills rise above the road to either side. You quickly lose sight of anything manmade except the road itself. You might as well be on another planet, somewhere people have never set foot.

I always get excited when I stumble onto these remote regions, especially when they’re so easy to get to!

Still, I’m a little puzzled by this road. It’s in surprisingly good condition, seemingly newly repaved when I traveled it last fall. But it’s almost completely deserted. It doesn’t really go anywhere in particular: it connects to other roads which eventually lead to a few small towns. It’s certainly not a shortcut anywhere, nor even a reasonable alternate route to anyplace in particular.

There’s no reason to drive on this road, as far as I can tell, except to see the landscape. In this case, the journey really is the destination. It’s commonly said, but how often is it so true?

This painting is sold, but many others may be seen on my web site.

Email inquiries welcome: info@barbarajcarter.com

Entry filed under: Acrylic, Landscape, Mini paintings, Ojai, Painting.

My art festival schedule “Topanga Shadows” mini painting


Barbara J Carter

I'm an artist. I make paintings with dots.

I work in acrylic paint, in a couple of distinct styles: landscapes and abstracts.

Native to California, I've lived elsewhere and only recently returned to my home state. I now live in Los Angeles.

I mostly show my art in outdoor festivals in California. I also occasionally show my work in art galleries or open studio events. You can see an up-to-date list of upcoming shows on my website (click here).

I invite you to sign up to receive my free email newsletter, in which I list my upcoming shows and talk about my latest work. I send it irregularly, a few times a year.

My links

My paintings

Follow me on Twitter: @barbarajcarter

Why I call my landscapes neo-Pointillist landscape paintings

A bunch of my abstract dot paintings

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 131 other followers

Feeds

Newsletter Signup

Click here to receive my free email newsletter for up-to-date info on my shows, my art, and anything else that I'm up to. I send it out irregularly, a few times a year.

My latest Twitter tweets

Find Articles by Date


