“Tree at Pacheco” mini painting

April 9, 2008 at 4:11 pm 3 comments

\ “Tree at Pacheco”, 2008, acrylic on paper, 5×5″ matted to 14×11″

As I mentioned in my last post, I’m painting a series of “mini” paintings. This is the first to be finished.

I paint these little 5-inch square paintings using a very small brush. There’s something very freeing about this tiny format. These paintings come together much more quickly than my larger ones, allowing me to be more spontaneous. Also, I do enjoy the simpler compositions that allow the pointillist dots to shimmer.

The format of these paintings is important to their appeal. Most of my time is spent painting, but a large chunk also goes into putting together the “package” with the mat and frame. I glue foamcore spacers between the mat and the painting to float the mat above the surface of the painting. The process is rather fussy (I’m very nitpicky about getting everything perfect) but I think the final effect is worth it. (Note: the photo above shows the real mat in a mock frame. The real frames are on order and should be available in time for my next show.)

It’s hard to show in a photo, but the effect of the mat is quite three-dimensional, floating 1/4 inch above the painting. It’s like looking through a tiny window into a different world. It’s much cuter in real life, so I hope you’ll stop by one of my shows and see for yourself!

This painting is available matted $115, or matted and framed in a simple black frame $145.

Email inquiries welcome: info@barbarajcarter.com

Entry filed under: Acrylic, Landscape, Painting, Pointillism, Tree Paintings.

New Series: Mini Paintings “Broad Tree” mini painting

3 Comments

  • 1. Anne-Marie  |  April 10, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    I love this painting – it’s very calming and zen like.

  • 2. Peggy C.  |  April 14, 2008 at 10:52 pm

    That is one lovely little work. Just beautiful.

  • 3. barbarajcarter  |  April 15, 2008 at 7:52 pm

    Thanks guys, I appreciate the comments!


Barbara J Carter

I'm an artist. I make paintings with dots.

I work in acrylic paint, in a couple of distinct styles: landscapes and abstracts.

Native to California, I've lived elsewhere and only recently returned to my home state. I now live in Los Angeles.

I mostly show my art in outdoor festivals in California. I also occasionally show my work in art galleries or open studio events. You can see an up-to-date list of upcoming shows on my website (click here).

I invite you to sign up to receive my free email newsletter, in which I list my upcoming shows and talk about my latest work. I send it irregularly, a few times a year.

My links

My paintings

Follow me on Twitter: @barbarajcarter

Why I call my landscapes neo-Pointillist landscape paintings

A bunch of my abstract dot paintings

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 131 other followers

Feeds

Newsletter Signup

Click here to receive my free email newsletter for up-to-date info on my shows, my art, and anything else that I'm up to. I send it out irregularly, a few times a year.

My latest Twitter tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Find Articles by Date


