“Soft Light” painting

March 26, 2008 at 4:10 pm

“Soft Light” painting by Barbara J Carter “Soft Light”, 2008, Acrylic on canvas, 12×9″

As I mentioned previously, I began two paintings the same size with similar subjects, intending them to be companions, possibly to be hung together as a pair. And then during the process somehow they diverged.

They’re certainly both in my signature “neo-Pointillist” style. Both are images of the hills around Ojai. But the colors in this one are much more subdued than the last. Subdued for me, anyway! It gives it a calmer feeling.

I think some of the calm feeling comes from the use of the color green. I had a lot of fun working green tones all through the composition in this painting. Of course the shrubbery at the bottom is green, but there are also bits of green peeking out in the hills, as well as green in the sky. I like how that subtly pulls the composition together.

“Strong Diagonal” painting by Barbara J Carter “Soft Light” painting by Barbara J Carter

This painting is sold. Many more may be seen at: www.barbarajcarter.com

Entry filed under: Acrylic, Landscape, Ojai, Painting.

What the heck is it? New Series: Mini Paintings


Barbara J Carter

I'm an artist. I make paintings with dots.

I work in acrylic paint, in a couple of distinct styles: landscapes and abstracts.

Native to California, I've lived elsewhere and only recently returned to my home state. I now live in Los Angeles.

I mostly show my art in outdoor festivals in California. I also occasionally show my work in art galleries or open studio events. You can see an up-to-date list of upcoming shows on my website (click here).

I invite you to sign up to receive my free email newsletter, in which I list my upcoming shows and talk about my latest work. I send it irregularly, a few times a year.

My links

My paintings

Follow me on Twitter: @barbarajcarter

Why I call my landscapes neo-Pointillist landscape paintings

A bunch of my abstract dot paintings

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 132 other followers

Feeds

Recent Posts

Newsletter Signup

Click here to receive my free email newsletter for up-to-date info on my shows, my art, and anything else that I'm up to. I send it out irregularly, a few times a year.

My latest Twitter tweets

Find Articles by Date


