“Trees on the Ridge” painting

February 22, 2008 at 1:45 pm 1 comment

“Trees on the Ridge” painting “Trees on the Ridge”, 2008, acrylic on canvas, 24×36″

On a hot sunny day in Southern California, hiking can be either a hot dusty ordeal or a cool shady pleasure, depending on where you choose to go.

One good place to go when the temperature soars is Sullivan Canyon in Los Angeles. Much of the canyon is shaded by large sycamores, gnarled oaks, and other native trees. The trail snakes along the bottom of the canyon where the shade is most plentiful.

Not all the trees are to be found deep in the canyon. This picturesque grove growing along the ridge above the canyon caught my eye, and I snapped a few shots of it as I walked by. Now, half a year later, in the depth of winter (as deep as winter gets here, which admittedly isn’t all that deep!) I’ve finished the painting based on those snapshots. Can you feel the shimmering heat?

This painting is sold, but many others may be seen on my web site.

Email inquiries welcome: info@barbarajcarter.com

Entry filed under: Acrylic, Landscape, Painting, Pointillism, Tree Paintings.

Palm Springs Art Show Pop quiz

1 Comment


Barbara J Carter

I'm an artist. I make paintings with dots.

I work in acrylic paint, in a couple of distinct styles: landscapes and abstracts.

Native to California, I've lived elsewhere and only recently returned to my home state. I now live in Los Angeles.

I mostly show my art in outdoor festivals in California. I also occasionally show my work in art galleries or open studio events. You can see an up-to-date list of upcoming shows on my website (click here).

I invite you to sign up to receive my free email newsletter, in which I list my upcoming shows and talk about my latest work. I send it irregularly, a few times a year.

My links

My paintings

Follow me on Twitter: @barbarajcarter

Why I call my landscapes neo-Pointillist landscape paintings

A bunch of my abstract dot paintings

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 132 other followers

Feeds

Recent Posts

Newsletter Signup

Click here to receive my free email newsletter for up-to-date info on my shows, my art, and anything else that I'm up to. I send it out irregularly, a few times a year.

My latest Twitter tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Find Articles by Date


