“Steep Hills” painting

January 15, 2008 at 5:32 pm 1 comment

“Steep Hills” painting “Steep Hills”, 2007, acrylic on canvas, 12×9″

When I lived in New England I painted the lush woods, the trees, and particularly the grassy fields, shadows crossing them in the late afternoon. Now that I’m in California, I am endlessly fascinated by the hills.

Here in Los Angeles, a city best known for sprawl and smog, what really strikes me as I travel about is the hills. They’re everywhere! The entire greater Los Angeles area is carved up into multiple valleys, all surrounded by the ubiquitous hills. The urban sprawl pools in the valleys, lapping at the feet of the hills. Belonging to conservancies and state parks, the majestic hills remain safely out of reach of developers.

I hope that my fascination with the hills will rub off on some of the more jaded residents here. It’s so easy to take them for granted and barely give them a second glance as we sit in bumper-to-bumper traffic on the freeway. On a clear day, with the sun low on the horizon, the hills can be simply glorious. Look up!

This painting is sold, but many more can be seen at: www.barbarajcarter.com

Entry filed under: Acrylic, Landscape, Painting.

Color Junkie “The Path in Rice Canyon” painting

1 Comment

  • 1. jaggedsmile  |  January 23, 2008 at 7:33 pm

    Your paintings are beautiful. Very vibrant and simple. They remind me a lot of the Fauvists, with the bold colors and shapes.


Barbara J Carter

I'm an artist. I make paintings with dots.

I work in acrylic paint, in a couple of distinct styles: landscapes and abstracts.

Native to California, I've lived elsewhere and only recently returned to my home state. I now live in Los Angeles.

I mostly show my art in outdoor festivals in California. I also occasionally show my work in art galleries or open studio events. You can see an up-to-date list of upcoming shows on my website (click here).

I invite you to sign up to receive my free email newsletter, in which I list my upcoming shows and talk about my latest work. I send it irregularly, a few times a year.

My links

My paintings

Follow me on Twitter: @barbarajcarter

Why I call my landscapes neo-Pointillist landscape paintings

A bunch of my abstract dot paintings

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 132 other followers

Feeds

Recent Posts

Newsletter Signup

Click here to receive my free email newsletter for up-to-date info on my shows, my art, and anything else that I'm up to. I send it out irregularly, a few times a year.

My latest Twitter tweets

Find Articles by Date


