My Palette: White

October 3, 2007 at 2:25 pm 1 comment

We’ve reached the final stop on the tour of my palette: White. It is possible to paint quite successfully without black (and I do), but white is indispensable.

White paint

There are two kinds of white paint available: zinc white and titanium white. The main difference between the two is opacity: titanium white is very opaque and zinc white is more transparent. Zinc white is sometimes called tinting white or blending white.

My “neo-pointillist” style requires opaque paint colors, so I use titanium white. My style is a layered technique and I only want the top layer to show. When I paint a dot that overlaps other dots, I don’t want the ones underneath to show through.

Oh, and that photo above? Well, that’s what my palette really looks like when I’m painting. Big blobs of colors all over the place. I figured you might enjoy a peek at the real thing, and anyway white paint doesn’t show up against a white background very well!

Entry filed under: Color, Painting, Palette, Pointillism.

My Palette: Orange Using White

1 Comment

  • 1. Inspiration: Stephen Quiller « Barbara J Carter  |  December 17, 2012 at 11:30 am

    […] I pared my palette down to just a few primaries: two reds, two yellows, and two blues (plus white, of course). Each primary color allows me to “extend” my reach to another part of the […]


Barbara J Carter

I'm an artist. I make paintings with dots.

I work in acrylic paint, in a couple of distinct styles: landscapes and abstracts.

Native to California, I've lived elsewhere and only recently returned to my home state. I now live in Los Angeles.

I mostly show my art in outdoor festivals in California. I also occasionally show my work in art galleries or open studio events. You can see an up-to-date list of upcoming shows on my website (click here).

I invite you to sign up to receive my free email newsletter, in which I list my upcoming shows and talk about my latest work. I send it irregularly, a few times a year.

My links

My paintings

Follow me on Twitter: @barbarajcarter

Why I call my landscapes neo-Pointillist landscape paintings

A bunch of my abstract dot paintings

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 131 other followers

Feeds

Newsletter Signup

Click here to receive my free email newsletter for up-to-date info on my shows, my art, and anything else that I'm up to. I send it out irregularly, a few times a year.

My latest Twitter tweets

Find Articles by Date


