Art that Lifts the Spirit

September 27, 2007 at 6:41 pm 2 comments

November Sun 7 “November Sun 7″, 2007, 10×8”

I see two worlds of art, but I struggle to describe the difference between the two.

I hate using the word “decorative” to describe the kind of work that so many artists (including myself!) make, art meant to lift the spirit, to be enjoyed in someone’s home on a daily basis. Besides, what do you then call the other stuff? The work that challenges us? It’s not necessarily nice to look at, and not many people want it hanging over the dining table frowning down at them at every meal, but it’s important stuff nonetheless. It’s educational, mind-expanding, and yes, often very uncomfortable.

I’ve always had trouble knowing what to call these two types of art. Pretty and ugly? I’ll confess to using these tags as an internal shorthand, but they are far too simplistic, not to mention fundamentally inaccurate. After all, some work meant for the home isn’t necessarily pretty: it can be soothing, or contemplative, or just plain weird. And while lots of the challenging stuff is ugly, plenty isn’t. Anyway, “ugly” is subjective, not to mention unnecessarily pejorative. So what then? Hard vs easy? Academic vs commercial? Conceptual vs perceptual? None of these is right.

The other day a fellow artist wrote what I thought was a nice description of the two types of art. Here, with permission, I quote:

There are two kinds of art: “cathartic art” and “chi raising art”.

“Cathartic art” addresses the “story”, the political, social, environmental, etc. subject matters. Many purposes are served by cathartic art both for the artist that creates it and the viewing public. Cathartic art can be beautiful or ugly. Art schools and a lot of curators love cathartic art.

“Chi raising art” is beautiful art. It raises the energy of the space and the viewer and makes one feel good to be alive. The heart leaps when in the presence of a truly beautiful piece of art. Beautiful art tends to be vilified in art school as being trite and superficial when, in fact, it touches the soul and is the highest level of art because it shifts the vibrational frequency to a higher plane, away from fear and pain. The buying public, generally, loves chi raising art.

Charlene Marsh

Now, I don’t personally buy into such notions as “chi” and “vibrational energy”. (It’s the hardnosed scientist in me.) But I still thought this was a very good summation of what, exactly, we artists are trying to do. And by “us” I do mean all of us, both the academics intent on making a statement, and those of us creating beauty to be enjoyed and lived with. There’s room for both kinds.

Entry filed under: Art Appreciation, Painting.

Using Yellow My Palette: Orange

2 Comments

  • 1. Laura Gunn  |  November 24, 2007 at 9:33 am

    Wow! I’ve spent so much time thinking and talking about this topic, it’s great to see I’m not the only one. I’m an artist myself and make”pretty” art. I really think about how my work affects a space. I want people to feel happy when they see it. And I think that is a pretty worthy pursuit.

  • 2. whttrz  |  July 24, 2011 at 1:21 am

    I love this post and I think it will be a catalyst for my thesis about the therapeutic value of art for students


Barbara J Carter

I'm an artist. I make paintings with dots.

I work in acrylic paint, in a couple of distinct styles: landscapes and abstracts.

Native to California, I've lived elsewhere and only recently returned to my home state. I now live in Los Angeles.

I mostly show my art in outdoor festivals in California. I also occasionally show my work in art galleries or open studio events. You can see an up-to-date list of upcoming shows on my website (click here).

I invite you to sign up to receive my free email newsletter, in which I list my upcoming shows and talk about my latest work. I send it irregularly, a few times a year.

My links

My paintings

Follow me on Twitter: @barbarajcarter

Why I call my landscapes neo-Pointillist landscape paintings

A bunch of my abstract dot paintings

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 132 other followers

Feeds

Recent Posts

Newsletter Signup

Click here to receive my free email newsletter for up-to-date info on my shows, my art, and anything else that I'm up to. I send it out irregularly, a few times a year.

My latest Twitter tweets

Find Articles by Date


