The Foothills Paper – July 13, 2007

August 1, 2007 at 4:15 pm

I made it into the local paper (The Foothills Paper) based on my appearance at the Montrose ArtWalk on July 7, 2007. I’ve copied part of the story and my photo (with permission) below.

Be an Artist AND Keep Your Day Job

by Teka Lark-Lo (The Foothills Paper, Vol. 3, No. 27, July 13, 2007)

Barbara J Carter at the Montrose ArtWalk

Not-so-starving artists gathered to show off their talents at the Montrose-Verdugo Chamber of Commerce Art Walk. The glamorous career of a painter can often manifest itself after a sensible career with dentistry. …

One of the more interesting back-stories was that of Barbara J. Carter of Santa Clarita. After Carter picked up a math and physics degree from Harvey Mudd College and a PhD in astrophysics from University of Chicago, she decided to go full-on into art.

“I’ve been doing art all my life. I’ve always been taking art classes, keeping one foot in the door,” said Carter.

Carter has been quite successful from the start. She sold twelve paintings at her first show.

“I sold a $500 painting today,” Carter said.

Apparently you can have the best of both worlds. You can have health insurance and be an artist. It may take a bit longer, but if you don’t make it at least you don’t have to live with your parents when you’re 45 years old.

Full article with all photos (4 MB file): The Foothills Paper, July 13, 2007, page 5

Entry filed under: Press.

How do you know when a painting is finished? My Palette: Red


Barbara J Carter

I'm an artist. I make paintings with dots.

I work in acrylic paint, in a couple of distinct styles: landscapes and abstracts.

Native to California, I've lived elsewhere and only recently returned to my home state. I now live in Los Angeles.

I mostly show my art in outdoor festivals in California. I also occasionally show my work in art galleries or open studio events. You can see an up-to-date list of upcoming shows on my website (click here).

I invite you to sign up to receive my free email newsletter, in which I list my upcoming shows and talk about my latest work. I send it irregularly, a few times a year.

My links

My paintings

Follow me on Twitter: @barbarajcarter

Why I call my landscapes neo-Pointillist landscape paintings

A bunch of my abstract dot paintings

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 131 other followers

Feeds

Newsletter Signup

Click here to receive my free email newsletter for up-to-date info on my shows, my art, and anything else that I'm up to. I send it out irregularly, a few times a year.

My latest Twitter tweets

Find Articles by Date


